De-cluttering

I’ve been decluttering.

Mostly this has meant putting Books, CDs and VHS tapes up for sale on Amazon. Given I’m not a completeist and rarely read any fiction twice, keeping the lot seemed an extravagance.

On top of this I cleared out boxes of old letters and paperwork. 10 year old credit card and bank statements from accounts I no longer have are now shredded and added to the compost bin. My uni notes are on their way to be next week’s newspapers. I figured these were papers I would only re-visit for nostalgia purposes, and nostalgia as they say ain’t what it used to be.

One side effect of this decluttering is a Doctor Who morning marathon. In the half hour before his breakfast, Matthew and I watch an old episode of Doctor Who. Mostly these are off-air copies from UK gold circa 1999, so they will be watched and thrown away. So far I’ve watched Spearhead From Space, Day of the Daleks, Carnival of Monsters, and the end of The Space Museum. And then the tape itself will sadly have to be binned.

Unless anyone still has use of blank video tapes?

Leave a Reply

