The media staffed by the double-take brothers

Am I unusual in being irritated by attention grabbing headlines and sensationalism in news stories? If when reading a story logically, I find the substance more mundane than the headline and tone suggests, am I wrong to feel annoyed?

Yesterday in many publications came the headline “showers could make you ill”. Turned out the real story was that a third of showers are dirty and really should be cleaned before they make you ill.

Today there’s a headline saying climate change could cause health problems, written in such a way as to suggest my reaction should be shock. But on reading the article I was thinking “yes, that makes sense.”

I despair.

Leave a Reply

