It was 20 years ago today…

…that I first took up paid employement.

I worked Saturday afternoons in Littlewoods in the Manchester Arndale. The unit where I worked is now Aldi. The outside has also changed as the Arndale centre was redeveloped after the 1996 IRA bomb.

But that was after my time. The IRA’s activities did affect me though, in 1991 when I was a senior sales assistant they planted several incindiary devices in the Arndale. One went off- right in the department where I worked. I had to be interviewed by the police and felt somehow guilty that I hadn’t spotted anything.

It wasn’t a highlight of my life, but if anyone says that as a wishy washy liberal I can’t have experienced terrorism, I can flatly disprove it.

Leave a Reply

